Advisory panel shortlists 12 candidates for NDPP position

From The Presidency

The advisory panel appointed by President Cyril Ramaphosa to identify suitable candidates for the position of National Director of Public Prosecutions (NDPP) has shortlisted 12 candidates who will be interviewed between 14 and 16 November 2018.

Minister of Energy Jeff Radebe chairs a panel comprising broad representation of the legal fraternity which is mandated to identify potential candidates, establish that they meet the required criteria, conduct interviews with potential candidates, and recommend at least three candidates to the President.

Having invited applicants and called for nominations for the position of the NDPP, the panel received 22 applications and 24 nominations by the close of business on 2 November 2018.

The panel met on the evening of Thursday, 8 November 2018, to draw up a short list of candidates from the applications and nominations received.

The following persons have been shortlisted:

1. Adv S Batohi
2. Adv G Breytenbach G
3. Adv K M Chauke
4. Adv J R De Kock
5. Adv A Johnson
6. Adv M Luphondo
7. Adv M Makhari
8. Adv N Manaka
9. Mr S X Mapoma
10. Adv C S Mlotshwa
11. Adv D M Noko
12. Adv M S Ramaite